Potential Flow Sim Now Comes with GUI


Last year, I posted a MATLAB code about  potential flow simulator and it turns out to be the most downloaded Aerodynamic Toolbox code of the year. So, yesterday, when I was happy because I have finished two chapter for my thesis, I decided to take a break from my thesis and update the code a little to give user the plotting freedom. When I was updating the code, suddenly I remembered that I promised to make GUI for this code in my post. So, long story short, here it is the GUI version of PotentialFlow2DSim.m.

PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI Screenshot

PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI Screenshot for 4 Sources

PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI Screenshot for 4 Sources

PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI Screenshot for 3 Source and a Sink

PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI Screenshot for 3 Source and a Sink

PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI Screenshot for 2 Source

PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI Screenshot for 2 Source

PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI Screenshot for a Doublet and 2 Sinks

PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI Screenshot for a Doublet and 2 Sinks

The picture above shows several potential flow obtained by several elementary flow. It turns out that at several cases, quiver plot is not good enough because the singularity at the center of the elementary flow makes velocity at a location very close to it become very high and causes the other velocity to become relatively very small. So, I added another mode in viewing the flow, called the normlized plot. Using this plot, all velocity vector is normalized to a unit vector while their magnitude is represented by the contour plot. If you see the monkey-like plot, that’s the normalized plot:D.

Actually, this is my first time creating complicated GUI (and also the first GUI code in MATLAB Areodynamics Toolbox). So, I think there must be some mistake that I made (although I hope not). As usual, I’m going to share this code and you can download it from my MATLAB Aerodynamics Toolbox page. If you find any mistake or have any suggestion, please feel free to email me or leave a comment. Remember that this GUI code (PotentialFlow2DSim_GUI.m) requires the updated version of PotentialFlow2DSim.m (also shared in my MATLAB Aerodynamics Toolbox page) to works. Hope this code is useful, for study or even for some fun:D.

Regards,

0X_R

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

